Cheapest Tile based system?

Anything libgdx related goes here!

Cheapest Tile based system?

Postby Dark_Cron » Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:47 pm

Hello there DarkCron here,
just a quick question since I just started out programming with libgdx (again) and wanted to make a small tile-based game to get back into it...
I was wondering, since I'm not a pro at programming yet, but I do know how to a little bit of programming...
I'm trailing off, well for a tile based map say 50x50 tiles (16/32/64 pixels width, height) which I've done before, but does one "convert" every tile in a sprite or just draw plane 2d textures? I worked without the sprites before (don't know why), but now I'm actually using sprites and well it's more useful and way more easier to get around with to program, but it looks like it's resources heavier then what I used before... Is it?
I'm so sorry if this sounds pretty vague, I have really no idea which things in libgdx can be resource heavy and which don't... Of course I read some examples in the wiki, but I was just wondering.

Cheers.

EDIT: of course, I do know that making a tile map static with only the dynamic tiles being sprites is better, but hey.
Dark_Cron

Re: Cheapest Tile based system?

Postby mzechner » Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:57 pm

Sprites aren't to terribly memory heavy. 4 vertices, each has 5 floats, so we are talking about 20 floats, or 80 bytes per sprite, vertex data only. Then a reference to a texture(region), etc. So a sprite weighs in at about 100 bytes in total. Drawing a sprite with a spritebatch can be super fast, as it's just an array copy.

The alternative of just keeping texture regions around for tiles, plus an array the tells you which tile uses which texture region is probably cheaper in terms of memory. Drawing wise it's a tiny little less efficient than a sprite, but nothing to worry about.