Beginner's Luck

Anything libgdx related goes here!

Beginner's Luck

Postby GBabb » Sun Nov 10, 2013 10:30 pm

Hey guys,
I'm fairly new to Android Development, and heard a lot of recommendations of LibGDX for game development. Likewise, I'm fairly competent in writing code in Java. After wrestling with LibGDX and Eclipse for the past few weeks I am still lacking a good foothold on designing apps, so I've decided to use this forum as my backup. A few general questions should get me on my way.

Is there an IDE better than Eclipse for LibGDX?
Which tutorial series helped you out the most when you began?
How open is this forum to newbies looking for help?

Any help is appreciated. I plan on continuing my struggle with LibGDX, but things haven't been easy getting off the ground.
GBabb

Re: Beginner's Luck

Postby dermetfan » Mon Nov 11, 2013 12:00 am

The IDE is mainly your personal preference. However, almost all the instructions focus on eclipse and the setup-ui generates eclipse projects.

I read the wiki (well when I did it was on google code) and examples a lot. Also don't hesitate to have a look at the source, it sometimes cleared things up for me. I didn't follow any particular series, but there are a few resources:

I'd say it's pretty open, at least there are many newbies posting here.
dermetfan

Postby jgauthier » Mon Nov 11, 2013 12:53 am

GBabb,

Don't give up! First, I am a newb as well. I've been tinkering with this for a few weeks. Like you, I am mostly competent with Java.
Setup takes a little effort, but you should be able to get a project going with setup-ui and having it run on Android, desktop, and web pretty easily.

Get eclipse. If you're on Mac OS X you need to do this with 64 bit everything.
Install the Android SDK into eclipse. http://developer.android.com/sdk/instal ... g-adt.html
(I do not use the ADT)
Get GWT in eclipse. make sure to install the SDK inside that as well. http://www.gwtproject.org/usingeclipse.html