Discussion: Future of libgdx (backend, functionality)

Anything libgdx related goes here!

Discussion: Future of libgdx (backend, functionality)

Postby captainflyaway » Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:44 am

Hey all!

My Background
I started game developing with a school project a few years ago. As we were learning java, libgdx was the only real option back then - we should code a game not design -> no unity or ue4 was allowed.

I remember that libgdx had a really steep learning curve back then which was not really good.

I tried coding a game but I failed after I realized 1 year into coding that I can never finish the project in any realistic way.

I am studying computer science at the TUM germany now which of course completely changed my view on coding.

Presence
I really like programming rather than dragging stuff in an editor so I tried a few other frameworks (Löve2D, Cocos2dx, CoronoaSDK) and I still think that libgdx feels the best of the options (maybe not in performance or portability but the way you code your game).

Discussion
Things we cannot change easily:
1. The active part of this community knows that there is not a lot of attention anymore.
2. Libgdx is not so much future proof anymore (no Metal or Vulkan background)

Things we can change:
3. Starting a new project is annoying as you have to rewrite (or copy) stuff that you should not really care about to setup every time
4. The framework lacks functionality (usable widgets - apart from buttons, support for vector graphics, alternative pathfinding - e.g. spacial segregation
5. Good and updated tutorials on how to make a game ready for iOS
(6. A modern website and forum)

Things we cannot change:
1. Lack of attention
I do watch a lot of youtube gamedevs in my spare time - non of them use libgdx, the forum has not seen many new games or users lately - if there are new games most of them are a first project (which is nice to see, but nobody will say "wow this amazing tic tac toe game was coded with libgdx".