Beginner looking to get into LibGDX

Anything libgdx related goes here!

Beginner looking to get into LibGDX

Postby uutah4 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 10:21 am

Hi everyone, I'm a freshman in college studying computer science. We've been learning java and I'm already familiar with stuff like loops, arrays, methods, classes and that's it. I already coded the magic number game and tic tac toe on the terminal but those were just inputs and outputs I guess. I really want to get into actual game development.

I read the FAQ and Wiki of gamedev and LibGDX seems pretty nice, mostly because it's java. Would it be a good choice to start from here? I know whatever engine or framework I pick doesn't matter, but I'm afraid I might not have enough knowledge to start developing (really simple) games yet. Should I learn anything else before advancing? One more year of college or maybe a specific thing I should do some research on?
I was also thinking about starting by building pong. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
uutah4

Re: Beginner looking to get into LibGDX

Postby shatterblast » Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:51 pm

If you want to make money off of Java, you should first research Spring or other options already known to you, especially if you have a job available. LibGDX can be nice to toy with as a hobby and you can even make a bit of extra income through ads or similar avenues. However, if you want to earn a livable income, LibGDX makes a very poor first choice.